Updated: October 2020

44th anniversary fundraiser (2015)

'Common ground: Engage, connect, build'

Consumer Action celebrated our 44th anniversary during a cocktail awards reception in downtown Washington, DC on Oct. 21, 2015. Consumer Action hosted the event, which was held at the offices of a supporter, public affairs firm DCI Group.

The theme of the anniversary was “common ground”—a nod to Consumer Action’s longstanding collaboration with diverse communities, private sector players, coalitions and lawmakers on both sides of the aisle. In keeping with this theme, Consumer Action honored Kenneth Feinberg, a well-known attorney who specializes in mediation and alternative dispute resolution with the DC firm of Feinberg Rozen; the Center for Public Integrity, an investigative news organization whose mission is to help preserve the public trust; and the Center for Financial Services Innovation, a national non-profit that offers increased access to higher-quality products and practices to improve the financial health of Americans.

“I am proud to have served as chair of the 44th Consumer Action Awards reception,” said Rob Shrum, director of political advocacy at CTIA–The Wireless Association. “Collaboration between communities, the private sector and policymakers is vital to ensure that all consumers’ needs are properly addressed. This has been, and will continue to be, a priority of ours, and we are happy to partner with Consumer Action toward this end.”

Ken McEldowney with Angie Garcia Lathrop of Bank of America (center) and Ellen Seidman, who accepted an award for the Center for Financial Services Innovation.

The event, attended by more than 100, was underwritten by Amazon, Capital One, Credit.com, the National Association of Broadcasters, TracFone Wireless and Verizon.

“Our anniversary was a huge hit and a great opportunity to catch up with staff and friends from across the country to celebrate our successes,” said Consumer Action executive director Ken McEldowney.

Supporters of our 44th Anniversary Event are:


Amazon | Capital One | credit.com | National Association of Broadcasters | Tracfone Wireless, inc | Verizon


AT&T | Citibank | DCI Group | Google | MasterCard | Microsoft | Paypal

Leadership Circle

Facebook | Global Cash Card | Philip and Janice Levin Foundation | Visa Inc.


American Express | Bank of America | Comcast | Enterprise | JPMorgan Chase | MyWireless.org | VantageScore Solutions


DISH Network | Electronic Payments Coalition | IDT911 | Neil Gendel


Certified Automotive Parts Association | Mortgage Bankers Association | The Hastings Group


Amplify | Consumer Attorneys of California | CUNA Mutual Group | Cuneo Gilbert & LaDuca, LLP | Future of Privacy Forum | James Beck | Jim Sturdevant | John Jensen | Law Offices of David A. Balto | Norman Bock | Twin Rivers Paper Company


Public Justice | Western Union | Patricia Sturdevant


Ben Lau | Chris Bjorklund | Debra Berlyn | Erwang Mao | Gregory Fowler | Law Offices of Rufus L. Cole


Quick Menu

Facebook FTwitter T

About Menu