Updated: March 2023

Consumer Action Annual ‘Consumer Excellence Awards’

Honorees, 1994 - 2022

Year Award Category Individual Recipient Agency Recipient/Affiliation
2022 Media   FactCheck.org
  Legislative Senator Ed Markey (D-MA) U.S. Senate
  Community   Student Borrower Protection Center
2021 Media   Popcorn Finance
  Legislative Senator Sherrod Brown (D-OH) U.S. Senate
  Community   National CAPACD
2020 Media   Kaiser Health News
  Regulatory Jessica Altman Pennsylvania Insurance Commissioner
  Community   Families USA
2019 Media   Telemundo Responde/NBC Responds
  Regulatory Rohit Chopra Commissioner, Federal Trade Commission (FTC)
  Community   The Center for Auto Safety
2018 Media   NerdWallet
  Lawmaker Sen. Catherine Cortez Masto U.S. Senate
  Community   Credit Builders Alliance
2017 Media Detroit Public Television "When I'm 65: Rethinking Retirement in America" documentary
  Regulatory Mignon Clyburn Commissioner, Federal Communications Commission (FCC)
  Community   Public Knowledge
2016 Media Ken Harney "The Nation’s Housing" column, syndicated by The Washington Post Writers Group
  Regulatory Richard Cordray Director, Consumer Financial Protection Bureau
  Community   National Fair Housing Alliance
2015 Media   Center for Public Integrity
  Legal Advocacy Kenneth Feinberg Feinberg Rozen LLP
  Community   Center for Financial Services Innovation
2014 Media Michelle Singletary Washington Post columnist
  Regulatory   Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB) Consumer Education and Engagement Division
  Community   National Endowment for Financial Education (NEFE)
2013 Media Luis Megid National Correspondent, Noticiero Univision
  Regulatory   U.S. Department of Justice Civil Rights Division "Language Access Team" and its LEP.gov
  Community   Asian Americans Advancing Justice
2012 Media Bob Sullivan The Red Tape Chronicles (NBCNews.com)
  Regulatory Ruth Y. Goldway US Postal Regulatory Commission
  CBO   The American Library Association’s Office for Intellectual Freedom
2011 Media Eileen Ambrose Baltimore Sun
  CBO   Opportunities Industrialization Center of DC
  Lawmaker Rep. Carolyn Maloney U.S. Congress
2010 Media   KTSF 26, Chinese News
  Advocate   Public Justice
  Lawmaker The Honorable Ellen Corbett California State Senator
2009 CBO   Healthy San Francisco
  CBO   Chinatown Service Center
  Media David Lazarus Los Angeles Times
  Advocate   Center for Responsible Lending
2008 Community Service Neil Gendel Healthy Children Organizing Project
  Media Herb Weisbaum Consumer Man / KOMO-TV Seattle, WA
  Advocacy   California Reinvestment Committee
  Community Service Pam Dixon World Privacy Forum
2007 Media Ida Choy Yee-yee Sing Tao Chinese Radio
  Advocate Ana M. Montes Latino Issues Forum
  Lawmaker The Honorable Maxine Waters (D-CA) U.S. Congress
2006 CBO   Consumer Credit Counseling Services of the East Bay
  Media Jeannette Pavini CBS Eyewitness News / ConsumerWatch
  Lawmaker The Honorable Debra Bowen California State Senator (D-Redondo Beach)
2005 Lawmaker The Honorable Judy Chu California Assembly (Monterey Park)
  Media "¡No Se Deje!" Telemundo 52, Los Angeles
  Advocate Chris Hoofnagle EPIC - Electronic Privacy Information Center
2004 CBO   Family Learning Center, Community Resource Project, Sacramento, CA
  Media   Noticias Univision 14
  Advocate Barbara Roper Consumer Federation of America
2003 CBO   New Economics for Women
  Advocate   American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU)/Northern California
  Advocate James Sturdevant, Esq. Trial Laywers for Public Justice
2002 CBO   Ability First
  Media Reynolds Holding San Francisco Chronicle
  Lawmaker Louise Renne San Francisco District Attorney
2001 Media   New California Media
  Lawmaker Hon. Kevin Shelley California Assembly Majority Leader
  Advocate Consumer Law Project Public Counsel
  Lifetime Achievement Helen Nelson  
2000 CBO   California Alliance for Consumer Education
  LawMaker Sheila Kuehl California Assemblymember
  Media Linea Abierta (OpenLine) Radio Bilingüe
1999 Lawmaker John Schweizer Chief of Staff, Hon. Jackie Speier (D-San Mateo)
  Advocate Jon Golinger CALPIRG
  Media Joe Ducey Contact 4/KRON & Bay TV
  Government Supervisor Sue Bierman San Francisco
1998 CBO   Asian Pacific American Legal Center
  Advocate Helen Nelson Consumer Research Foundation
  Advocate Rosemary Shahan Consumers for Auto Reliability & Safety (CARS)
  Media Michael Finney 7 on Your Side-KGO-TV
1997 Media Action Line San Jose Mercury News
  Advocate Beth Givens Privacy Rights Clearinghouse
1996 Media Chris Bjorklund KPIX-TV
  Advocate Laurel Pallock S.F. District Attorney's Office
  Advocate Pastor Herrera, Jr. Los Angeles County Department of Consumer Affairs
1995 Advocate Audrie Krause TURN (Toward Utility Rate Normalization)
  Advocate Harvey Rosenfield Prop. 103 Enforcement Project
1994 Lawmaker Herschel Rosenthal Californa State Senator (D-Los Angeles)
  Advocate   Legal Aid Foundation of Los Angeles
  CBO   Korean Health Education Info. and Referral Center



Quick Menu

Facebook FTwitter T

About Menu